COVID-19 Impacts and Transforming the Role of Women in the Post-Pandemic Era

August 19th – 20th, 2021

Map of UNESCO Chairs in Gender Related Fields
Special guest Ava Duvernay

The W36 Global Summit is a 2 day event, hosted virtually from India, which aims to discuss the challenges currently faced by women and girls all across the world because of the Covid-19 pandemic, and how to address them. This Summit is open to anybody interested in these topics, including UNESCO Chairs, but also academics, researchers, students, and any organization or stakeholder.

Day 1 will give an opportunity to all Gender-Related UNESCO Chairs to present their Chair, mission and activities, to the other Chairs, but also to a wider public, as an open event.

Day 2 will focus on specific themes during smaller group sessions (Science & Technology; Education & Skill Development; Society, Culture & Legal Rights; Health & Nutrition, Safety & Security, Environment & Sustainability; Finance & Economics; Communication & Leadership). Academics, researchers, students, or anybody having worked or conducted a research or project in one of these areas is welcome to participate. Please register to send us your suggestions.

Timings: 16:00 Hrs to 20:00 Hrs (GMT+5:30). Please use this link to view the event in your local time zone.

Download the detailed Agenda for Day 1 here.

Download the detailed Agenda for Day 2 here.

List of UNESCO Gender-Related Chairs

  • UNESCO Chair on Women, Sciences and Technology

    Professor Gloria Bonder, La Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales (FLACSO), Sede Académica Argentina

  • UNESCO Chair on Water, Women and Development

    Isabel Roseli Ribeiro and Vera Lúcia de Miranda Guarda, Université fédérale d'Ouro Preto-UFOP, Ouro Preto, Minas Gerais, Brazil

  • UNESCO Chair in Cultural Diversity, Gender and Border Territories

    Prof Damião Duque de Farias, Universidade Federal da Grande Dourados, Brazil

  • UNESCO Chair on Women, Gender, Sciences, Society and Sustainable development

    Prof Karifa Bayo, Université de Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso

  • UNESCO Chair in Media and Gender

    Dr. Liu Chang, Communication University of China

  • UNESCO Chair for the promotion of Gender Equality

    Antonio Roveda Hoyos, Universidad del Rosario, Columbia

  • UNESCO Chair on Water, Women and Decision-making

    Prof Euphrasie Hortense Yao Kouassi, Université de Cocody, CIRES, Côte d'Ivoire

  • UNESCO Chair on Gender Equality and Women's Empowerment

    Dr. Mary Koutselini, University of Cyprus, Cyprus

  • UNESCO Chair on Water, Women and Governance

    Francisco T. Rodriguez, Instituto Global de Altos Estudios en Ciencias Sociales (IGLOBAL), Dominican Republic

  • UNESCO Chair on the Empowerment of Women through Science and Technology

    Prof Boshra Mossaad Awad, Ain Shams University, Egypt

  • UNESCO Chair on the Women and Science

    Prof Elyès Jouini, Université Paris Dauphine-PSL, France

  • UNESCO Chair on Women, Peace and Security: Building Capacity and Resilience through Education and Research

    Dr. Fotini Bellou, University of Macedonia, Greece

  • UNESCO Chair on Gender Equality and Women's Rights in the Multicultural Society

    Dr. Barbara Pozzo, University of Insubria, Italy

  • UNESCO Chair on Gender and Vulnerability in Disaster Risk Reduction Support

    Prof Alexander Ronni, Kobe University, Japan

  • UNESCO Chair in Women and Community Health

    Prof Bahemuka Judith, University of Nairobi, Sociology department, Kenya

  • UNESCO Chair on Youth Leadership in Science, Health, Gender and Education

    Prof Marleen Temmerman, Aga Khan University, Kenya

  • UNESCO Chair in Communication Technology for Women

    Dr. Yunkeum Chang, Sookmyung Women’s University, Republic of Korea

  • UNESCO Chair in Gender, Leadership and Equity

    Dra. Elia Marum Espinosa, The University of Guadalajara, Mexico

  • UNESCO Chair on Water, Women and Decision-making

    Dr. Asma El Kasmi, Université Al Akhawayn d'Ifrane, Morocco

  • UNESCO Chair on Women and Rights

    Prof Khalid Berjaoui, Université Mohammed V, Morocco

  • UNESCO Chair on Gender and Digital Technologies

    Namibia University of Science and Technology, Namibia

  • UNESCO Chair on Gender Equality in Higher Education Institutions

    Dr. Patricia Ruiz Bravo and Aranxa Pizarro, The Pontifical Catholic University of Peru, Peru

  • UNESCO Chair in Women, Society and Development

    Prof. Renata Siemienska, University of Warsaw, Poland

  • UNESCO Chair in Policies on Gender and Equal Rights between Women and Men

    Prof. Virginia Maquieira d'Angelo, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain

  • UNESCO Chair on Women, Development and Cultures

    Dr. Sandra Ezquerra, Université de Vic/Université de Barcelone, Spain

  • UNESCO Chair on Gender Equality Policies in Science, Technology and Innovation

    Prof. Ines Sánchez de Madariaga, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain

  • UNESCO Chair on Appropriate Technologies for Human Development

    Prof. María Teresa Fernández de la Vega, Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain

  • UNESCO Chair in Women, Science and Technology

    Abdelgadir Hassan, Sudan University of Science and Technology, Sudan

  • UNESCO Chair in Women, Science and Reasoned Water Management in West Africa

    Prof. Isabel Glitho, Université de Lomé, Togo

  • UNESCO Chair on Improvement in Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women

    Prof. Hulya Ugur Tanriove, Giresun University, Turkey

  • UNESCO Chair on Gender Equality and Sustainable Development

    Dr. Oder Bertil Emrah, Koç University, Turkey

  • UNESCO Chair on Gender Equality and Culture

    Prof. Hülya Şimga, Maltepe University, Turkey

  • UNESCO Chair in Gender Research

    Dr. Sylvia Walby, Lancaster University, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

  • UNESCO Chair on Gender, Wellbeing and a Culture of Peace

    Dr. Araceli Alonso, University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA

  • UNESCO Chair on Sustainable development, Early childhood, Inclusive Education and Gender

    Georgetown University, Washington DC, USA

  • UNESCO Chair in Women's Empowerment and Gender Equality

    Dr. Bhavani Rao, CWEGE, Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham, India

  • New Chair as of June 2021 – UNESCO Chair on Women and Science for Development

    Dr. Rose Michelle Smith, Institut des Sciences, des Technologies et des Etudes Avancées d'Haiti (ISTEAH), Haiti